What is an IFSC code?

IFSC stands for “Indian Financial System code” for INDIA and International Financial Service center for other countries.

In this post, we will discuss on India IFSC code.


IFSC code is a unique alphanumeric code with a character length of 11 digits. Basically IFSC code is used to identify Bank branches or I can say identifying each branch of every Bank in India. It facilitates electronic funds transfer in India. A code which uniquely identifies each branch that participates in main payment and settlement systems within India.

Where it is used?

RBI (Reserve Bank of India) developed it for doing electronic payments or transfer money using RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement) , NEFT (National Electronic Fund Transfer), IMPS (Instant Mobile money transfer), Immediate payment services and CFMS (Centralized Fund management system).

How the 11 digits are categorized?

XXXX- First 4 digits represent Bank

X- 5th digit is always 0 (Zero) which is reserved for future use

XXXXXX- Last 6 digits represent the Branch

What is a MICR code?
MICR Code: Magnetic Ink Character Recognition as printed on cheque book to facilitate the processing of cheques.

Explore IFSC Codes

Find IFSC details of any bank and brach from over 150000 branches.

or select a district from these:

Popular Banks

Explore IFSC details from some popular banks.